Home » Boy Scouts Merit Badges

Boy Scouts Merit Badges


BSA has prepared several great resources for both the Scout and the adult merit badge counselor.  To see what is available and to download them, go online to the National website using this URL:  http://scouting.org/sitecore/content/Home/BoyScouts/GuideforMeritBadgeCounselors/Resources.aspx

So what are are Merit Badges, and why do you want to earn them?

A merit badge is an award that is presented to a Scout when he completes the requirements for one of the merit badge subjects. The badge is only a small piece of khaki cloth with a design embroidered in color, but its significance is as large as the interest of the merit badge counselor who helps a Scout earn it.
Millions of Scouts “browse” among the 120 subjects, choosing those that seem most interesting to them. Some subjects are in craftwork, some in vocational fields, some in service to others, and many in cultural or self-improvement areas.

Merit Badges are the primary method of gaining and proving knowledge for those ranks after First Class. The merit badge requirements for Star, Life, and Eagle ranks are:

  • Star – Earn six merit badges, including four from the required list for Eagle.
  • Life – Earn five more merit badges (so that you have 11 in all), including any three more from the required list for Eagle.
  • Eagle – Earn a total of 21 merit badges (10 more than you already have)
  • Eagle Palm – Bronze – 5 merit badges beyond Eagle rank, and again for 5 merit badges beyond each Gold Eagle Palm.
  • Eagle Palm – Silver – 5 merit badges beyond Bronze Eagle Palm
  • Eagle Palm – Gold – 5 merit badges beyond Silver Eagle Palm

The merit badges required for the Eagle rank are:

  Merit badges, badges of rank, and Eagle Palms are for boys who are registered Boy Scouts or Varsity Scouts. Any registered Boy Scout or Varsity Scout may earn these awards until his 18th birthday. Any Venturer who achieved the First Class rank as a Boy Scout or Varsity Scout in a troop may continue working for the Star, Life, and Eagle ranks and Eagle Palms while registered as an Venturer up to his 18th birthday.

What Merit Badges are there?

As of January 2006, there are 121 merit badges. Alphabetically, they are (Note: Eagle required in BOLD):

A B C D E F G H I J       K L M
N O P       Q R S T       U V W       X       Y       Z
Facebook Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com